Event Description

The Symphony’s Concertmaster, David Felberg, takes center stage to perform BRUCE ADOLPHE’s extremely passionate Concerto for Violin  “I Will Not Remain Silent,” based on the life of Joachim Prinz. To follow, one of the most well known and emotionally entrancing melodies in film history will captivate you … the beloved theme from JOHN WILLIAMS’s Schindler’s List. And finally, the luminous soprano voice of Mary Wilson will fill The Lensic hall when she sings “Das himmlische Leben” from GUSTAV MAHLER’s Symphony No. 4.

Conducted by Maestro Guillermo Figueroa, this spectacular concert is dedicated to the Memory of Leonard Felberg.

“I Will Not Remain Silent”
David Felberg, Violin

Theme from Schindler’s List

Symphony No. 4 in G Major
Mary Wilson, Soprano


Many thanks to Concert Sponsor-In-Part: ALH Foundation, In Memory of John Greenspan, and the Storr Family Endowment Fund.

Share With Your Friends: facebook twitter pinterest

Concert Notes

Concerto for Violin “I Will Not Remain Silent”
Born May 31, 1955, New York City

Bruce Adolphe’s Violin Concerto, composed in 2013 and subtitled “I Will Not Remain Silent,” was inspired by the moral example of Joachim Prinz. Prinz (1902-1988) grew up in Germany, became a rabbi, and very early recognized the threat posed by Hitler and the Nazis. He spoke out vigorously, warned Jews of the imminent danger, and encouraged them to act to protect themselves, saving thousands of lives in the process. Expelled from Nazi Germany in 1937, Prinz came to the United States and committed himself with equal fervor to the civil rights movement, recognizing parallels between those oppressed in Nazi Germany and in mid-century America. He was one of the organizers of the civil rights March on Washington in August 1963, and on that occasion he spoke just before Martin Luther King’s “I Have a Dream” speech. In his speech, Prinz warned that “the most urgent, the most disgraceful and most tragic problem is silence.”

Theme from Schindler’s List
Born February 8, 1932, Long Island, NY

Steven Spielberg’s Schindler’s List, which opened in December 1993, told the story of the German businessman Oskar Schindler, who used his position as head of an enamelware factory in Krakow to save thousands of Jews during the Holocaust. The film won a total of seven Academy Awards, and one of these was for Best Original Score, which had been composed by John Williams. The Spielberg-Williams collaboration is now nearly fifty years old (Williams has provided the scores for all but two of Spielberg’s films), and Schindler’s List proved one of their most successful efforts—it won the Academy Award for Best Picture and has been hailed as perhaps Spielberg’s finest film.

Symphony No. 4 in G Major
Born July 7, 1860, Kalischt, Bohemia
Died May 18, 1911, Vienna

In April 1897 Mahler was named director of the Vienna Court Opera, the most prestigious post in the world of music. But the fierce demands of that position brought his composing to a standstill, and from the summer of 1896 until the summer of 1899 he composed no new music. Finally established in Vienna, he could return to creative work, and during the summer of 1899 he retreated to the resort town of Alt-Aussee in the Styrian Alps and composed the first two movements of his Fourth Symphony. He completed the symphony the following year at his new summer home on the shores of the Wörthersee and led the premiere in Munich on November 25, 1901.

& Musicians

Principal Conductor

Guillermo Figueroa


David Felberg


Mary Wilson

Meet The Composers