Event Description

The brilliant pianist Olga Kern will once again grace The Lensic’s stage for the very first of The Symphony’s inaugural series of Concert Recitals, just days before she rejoins the full Symphony Orchestra.  Join the thousands from around the world who have heard the awe-inspiring music performed by Kern, winner of the Nancy Lee and Perry R. Bass Gold Medal in the Eleventh Van Cliburn International Piano Competition. PROGRAM: DOMENICO SCARLATTI (1685–1757) Three Sonatas      Piano Sonata in A Major, K.24      Piano Sonata in D Minor, K.9      Piano Sonata in C Major, K.159 LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN (1770–1827) Piano Sonata in C Major, op. 53 (“Waldstein”) Allegro con brio Introduzione: Adagio molto Rondo: Allegretto moderato; Prestissimo INTERMISSION SERGEI RACHMANINOV (1873–1943) Eight Preludes     Allegro vivace in C Major, op. 32 no. 1     Moderato in G Major, op. 32 no. 5     Vivo in A Minor, op. 32 no. 8     Prelude in C-sharp Minor, op. 3 no. 2     Allegro in C Minor, op. 23 no. 7     Lento in B Minor, op. 32 no. 10     Allegro in G-sharp Minor, op. 32 no. 12     Alla Marcia in G Minor, op. 23 no. 5 ALEXANDER SCRIABIN (1872–1915) Two Etudes from op. 42     No. 4 in F-sharp Major     No. 5 in C-sharp Minor MILY BALAKIREV (1837–1910) Islamey Click here for more information on our subscription package options! Individual tickets from $22 available now—click “join our email list” on the sidebar to make sure you receive all the latest news.
Share With Your Friends: facebook twitter pinterest
Olga Kern Van Cliburn–winning pianist

Olga Kern is now recognized as one of her generation’s great pianists. With her vivid stage presence, passionately confident musicianship, and extraordinary technique, the striking pianist continues to captivate fans and critics alike. Read more!

Kern will also be featured as a concerto soloist during The Symphony’s October 16 performance, alongside the full orchestra—don’t miss it!

& Musicians


Olga Kern

Meet The Composers