Season Opener

Loading Events

Season Opener

Sunday, Sep 12, 2021 / 4:00 pm

The Santa Fe Symphony kicks off its exciting return to live performances at The Lensic, Santa Fe’s performing arts center, with a powerful program featuring brilliant works by Anthony Barfield, Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov, Steve Reich and Astor Piazzolla. Recipient of a Borletti-Buitoni Trust Award and an Avery Fisher Career Grant, violinist Alexi Kenney was named “a talent to watch” by The New York Times. He has earned widespread acclaim across the globe and returns to Santa Fe this fall to join The Symphony’s Maestro Guillermo Figueroa on violin for Reich’s masterful Duet for Two Violins and String Orchestra and The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires, an exquisite symphonic tango by Piazzolla.

The Santa Fe Symphony Orchestra
Guillermo Figueroa, Principal Conductor



“Invictus” Fanfare


Duet for Two Violins and String Orchestra

Alexi Kenney, Violin; Guillermo Figueroa, Violin


The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires, arr. by Leonid Desyatnikov

Alexi Kenney, Violin


Capriccio espagñol, op.34


Full Concert Sponsor:



Single tickets for this concert are not currently on sale.


Sunday, Sep 12, 2021
4:00 pm


The Lensic
211 W. San Francisco Street
+ Google Map


Paid public parking is available at the Sandoval Municipal Garage, 216 West San Francisco Street (across the street from The Lensic). Additional metered parking is available throughout the downtown area.

Of Note

Cuatro estaciones porteñas, also known as the The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires, is a set of four tango compositions that were originally conceived and treated as different compositions rather than one suite―although Piazzolla performed them together occasionally. The Russian composer Leonid Desyatnikov made a new arrangement of the pieces by converting each movement into three sections, arranging it for solo violin and string orchestra, and quoting from Vivaldi’s Four Seasons.

Rimsky-Korsakov originally intended to write Capriccio espagnol for violin. As he worked on it, he decided to change to an orchestral work―although the piece shows traces of the composer’s original plan in its many passages for solo violin.

The August 7, 2020 outdoor concert of Invictus was the first time in history that musicians from all of the participating organizations performed together. Members of the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra, New York Philharmonic, Juilliard School, Jazz at Lincoln Center, New York City Ballet Orchestra and Mostly Mozart Festival Orchestra played in the socially distanced event, which was filmed on the Lincoln Center plaza.

Alexi Kenney, violin

The recipient of a 2016 Avery Fisher Career Grant and a 2020 Borletti-Buitoni Trust Award, violinist Alexi Kenney has been named "a talent to watch" by The New York Times, which also noted his "architect's eye for structure and space and a tone that ranges from the achingly fragile to full-bodied robustness.” Born in Palo Alto, CA, Alexi is a graduate of the New England Conservatory in Boston, where he received his Artist Diploma and BM.

Read more

Guillermo Figueroa, principal conductor

One of the most versatile and respected musical artists of his generation—renowned as conductor, violinist, violist, and concertmaster—Guillermo Figueroa is the Principal Conductor of The Santa Fe Symphony Orchestra & Chorus. He also serves as the Music Director of the Music in the Mountains Festival in Colorado and Music Director of the Lynn Philharmonia in Florida, and is the founder of the highly acclaimed Figueroa Music and Arts Project in Albuquerque.

Read more

Listen on Spotify

Spotify users who are logged into their account can hear full-length audio on this playlist. all other users will hear 30-second clips. Want more? Get Spotify.

Program Notes

"Invictus, meaning 'unconquered,' is a short work about New York City in its current circumstances," says composer Anthony Barfield. "It’s about dealing with the heightened sense of uncertainty surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic and the Black Lives Matter protests."…

Read more


© 2022 The Santa Fe Symphony & Chorus